Exercise 2.3 Painting on 3D surface

For this exercise we are to choose another of our collections and paint an image of it, or an object from the collection onto a 3D surface, such as paper cup, piece of wood, stone, handbag, packaging, conker, porcelain.

I went rummaging about in the garden looking for a piece of wood but ended up with this interesting stone, that was amongst the chippings we used for our pathway last year:

Piece of stone

It’s about 2 1/2 ” x 1 1/2″ at the widest points, so quite small. I thought it might be good to try and paint one of the shells, as the indentations towards the front (in the photo) convey the natural grooves and ridges of a small conch.

My reference collection photo was this one:

sea shells reference photo

I figured the best medium to use to paint on this little rock would be the enamel, I used white, metallic bright gold, black, red and lemon. My first idea was to use a dark black/red background.

But after getting hold of some quite fine brushes today, I did a toch up and chose the blue:

Shells on a rock

This was really fun to do. The subject and the ground it is painted on both have close affinities with each other, so I think it works!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started